Simmons College and
University of Denver
Student Chapters of the Year

ASIS&T has many different leadership volunteer positions available and we encourage you to take advantage and get involved!   Get involved & become a leader!

Student Chapters


Student Chapters are intended to provide an organization through which Student Members of ASIS&T may share their special concerns and run programs for students and other members of the community with an interest in information science. Student Chapter Participation is also intended to provide students with experience in being active ASIS&T members, and to contribute to personal growth and career development.

Through liaison with local ASIS&T groups, students may develop informal contacts and gain exposure to the professional environment. The Student Chapter increases the student's sense of fellowship with the Association. Student Chapters should also promote the advancement of information science within academic curricula, and provide liaison between the academic community and local organizations, agencies, firms, or groups.


Student Chapter Representative: Chirag Shah
Student Chapter Alternative Representative:
Daniel Alemneh


Use our map to find your ASIS&T Student Chapter!

Contact Information:

Catholic University of America
   Advisor:  Sung Un Kim, kimi@cua.edu
   School

Drexel University
   Advisor:  Kristene Unsworth, ku26@drexel.edu
   Alternate Advisor:  Toni Carbo, tcarbo14@gmail.com
   School 

European Student Chapter 
   Advisor:  Peter Ingwersen, pi@iva.dk  
   Student chapter web site |

Florida State University
   Advisor:  Corinne Jorgensen, cjorgensen@lis.fsu.edu
   School  

Indiana University
  
Advisor:  Howard Rosenbaum, hrosenba@indiana.edu
   School | Student chapter web site |

Long Island University
   Advisor:  Heting Chu, hchu@liu.edu
   Advisor:  Qiping Zhang, qiping.zhang@liu.edu
   School | Student Chapter web site

Louisiana State University
   Advisor:  Boryung Ju, bju1@lsu.edu
   School  

McGill University
    Advisor:  France Bouthillier, france.bouthillier@mcgill.ca
    School | Student Chapter web site |

North Carolina Central University
   Advisor:  Deborah E. Swain, swainham@msn.com
   School 

Ohio Virtual
   Advisor:  Ted Morris (Kent State), tamorris@kent.edu    

Pratt Institute
   Advisor:  Cristina Pattuelli, mpattuel@pratt.edu
   School | Student chapter web site 

Rutgers University
   Advisor:  Dr.Chirag Shah, chirags@rutgers.edu
   School | Student chapter web site |

San Jose State University
   Advisor:  Sandra Hirsh, sandy.hirsh@sjsu.edu   
   School | Student chapter web site
   Facebook  Twitter  Linked In You Tube

Simmons College
   Advisor:  Linnea Johnson, linnea.johnson@simmons.edu
   School | Student chapter web site

St. John's University
   Advisor:  Bella Hass Weinberg
   School 

State University of New York - Albany
   Advisor:  Abebe Rorissa, arorissa@albany.edu
   School | Student chapter web site |  

State University of New York - Buffalo
   Advisor:  Dr. Jianqiang Wang, jw254@buffalo.edu
   School 

State University of New York - Oswego
   Advisor:  Youngok Choi, ychoi@oswego.oswego.edu
   School  

Taipei University
   Advisor:  Shan-Ju Lin Chang, sjlin@ntu.edu.tw
   School

University of Alabama
   Advisor:  Steven L MacCall, PhD, smaccall@slis.ua.edu
   Student chapter web site |  

University of British Columbia
   Advisor:  Eric Meyers, emeyers@mail.ubc.ca
   School | Student chapter web site

University of California, Los Angeles
   Advisor:  Gregory H. Leazer, gleazer@ucla.edu
   Advisor:  Jean-François Blanchette, blanchette@gseis.ucla.edu
   School | Student chapter web site

University of Denver 
  
Advisor:  Dr. Shimelis Assefa, sassefa@du.edu
   School | Student chapter web site |

University of Hawaii
   Advisor:  Rich Gazan, gazan@hawaii.edu
   School

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
   Advisor:  J. Stephen Downie
   School  

University of Iowa
   Advisor:  Padmini Srinivasan, padmini-srinivasan@uiowa.edu
   School 

University of Kentucky
   Advisor:  Donald Case, dcase@uky.edu
   School | Student chapter web site

University of Maryland
   Advisor:  Yan Qu, yanqu@umd.edu
   School  

University of Michigan
   Advisor:  Victor Rosenberg, victorr@umich.edu
   School

University of Missouri
   Advisor:  Sanda Erdelez, ErdelezS@missouri.edu
   Advisor:  Heather Moulaison, moulaisonhe@missouri.edu
   School | Student Chapter |

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
   Advisor:  Brad Hemminger, bmh@ils.unc.edu
   School | Student chapter web site

University of North Texas
   Advisor:  Shawne Miksa, smiksa@unt.edu
   School | Student chapter web site

University of Pittsburgh
   Advisor:  Leanne Bowler, lbowler@sis.pitt.edu
   School

University of South Carolina
   Advisor:  Jinmook Kim, jnmook@gwm.sc.edu
   School | Student chapter web site

University of South Florida  
   Advisor:  James Andrews, jandrews@cas.usf.edu
   School

University of Tennessee, Knoxville
   Advisor:  Dania Bilal, dania@utk.edu
   School | Student chapter web site

University of Texas, Austin
   Advisor:  Matt Lease, ml@ischool.utexas.edu
   School | Student chapter web site |

University of Toronto
   Advisor:  Nadia Caidi, caidi@fis.utoronto.ca
   School

University of Washington
   Advisor:  Joe Tennis, jtennis@u.washington.edu
   School | Student chapter web site |

University of Western Ontario
   Advisor:  Diane Neal, dneal2@uwo.ca
   School

University of Wisconsin, Madison
   Advisor:  TBA
   School

University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
   Advisor:  Iris Xie, hiris@uwm.edu
   School

Wayne State University
   Advisor:  Bin Li, binli@wayne.edu
   School |