ASIS Midyear Meeting, May 1999
 


CONFERENCE THEME

Evaluating and Using Networked Information Resources and Services

Access to and use of networked information resources and services over the Internet continues to explode with new and innovative applications as well as in new and unforeseen applications. Traditional uses such as email, web searching, and uploading/downloading files also continues to grow. Commercial applications and uses of the network also are growing and as the "Digital Economy" expands, impacts on society are also likely to occur.

In the last three years the number of domain names has increased by 600%. Government agencies continue to provide Web-based services, in some cases exclusively in electronic format. Entire network-based communities have been created to provide information and services, and to develop social spaces unbounded by geography. Indeed, the networked environment creates opportunities for service innovation, provision, distribution, and capabilities well beyond traditional means.

The development and provision of these innovative services is hindered by our limited knowledge of users and uses of networks, as well as by the lack of ongoing evaluation and assessment of networked resources. To a large degree, there is limited knowledge about users and uses of the network, nor is there much ongoing evaluation and assessment of networked information services and resources. Thus, the primary goals of the conference are to:


PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Program Chairs:
Charles McClure, Syracuse University. cmcclure@mailbox.syr.edu
John Carlo Bertot, State University of New York at Albany. jcbertot@cnsunix.albany.edu
Carol A. Hert, Syracuse University. cahert@mailbox.syr.edu
 

Program Committee:
Anne M. Buck, California Institute of Technology. buck@cco.caltech.edu
Michael Crandall, Boeing Company. Michael.Crandall@PSS.Boeing.com
Geoffrey Ford, University of Bristol. g.ford@bristol.ac.uk
Ed Fox, Virginia Tech. fox@vt.edu
Carol A. Hert, Syracuse University. cahert@mailbox.syr.edu
Paul Kantor, Rutgers University. kantorp@cs.rutgers.edu
 

Website Authors:
Jeffrey Pomerantz, Syracuse University. jppomera@syr.edu
Sarah Allen, Syracuse University. sealle01@syr.edu


Association for Information Science
8720 Georgia Avenue, Suite 501
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone (301) 495-0900
FAX (301) 495-0810
asis@asis.org (e-mail)

ASIS HomeSearch ASISMake A Comment  © 1999, Association for Information Science 
Last Update: 1 April 1999